Style Savvy (Fashion Forward) Thoughts

Feeding the stylist in me

Created: July 2, 2023

So it’s been a while since I’ve gone on summer break, and I managed to alter the SD card on my 3DS so I could play more games. I still need to upgrade the SD card to a higher storage so I can play even more games, but that’s something for later. For the past few days, there has been one game I have been playing obsessively: Style Savvy: Fashion Forward. As someone who has had internet access for as long as they can remember, dress-up games were a constant in my websurfing sessions. There is nothing quite like the satisfaction of dressing up, both in real life and in video games, but Style Savvy takes it to a whole other level.

Fashion Forward is the series’s third installation, releasing in 2015. Unlike the earlier games, the player can do more than just dress-up; they can also style people’s hair, do makeup, and design clothes. It also has a feel-good storyline, which is honestly a little short, but the gameplay is great and the variety of options has made me play it for hours on end (which could be a bad thing for my vision, but oh well). Perhaps I’ll make a page for it in the future and upload more of my screenshots there.

I enjoy (hair)styling the most as of now because of its simplicity. I’m currently trying to unlock more hairstyles within the game, but it isn’t as simple as the clothes, which you just buy at the mall. You have to repeatedly use hairstyles that have already been unlocked to get more, as well as pay close attention to the customer’s awfully vague orders. Sometimes customers just give you free reign, which is cool but kinda boring.

The reason I enjoy it much more than doing people’s makeup because flipping back and forth between reference photos and colors is quite tedious, and the fact that the colors are organized weirdly doesn’t help. I mean, who puts a color named “Piano” in the reds???

I know there will come a time where I’ll get tired of this game too (basically just when next school year starts), but for now this is one of my games of the summer.

A screenshot of a Style Savvy: Fashion Forward character saluting towards the screen.

A screenshot from the first photoshoot assigned in the game